During the predawn hours of 2021 APR 02, there may appear to be a fifth Galilean satellite around Jupiter. Actually, it will be the magnitude +5.9 star 44 Capricorni.

Some observers in eastern North America may be able to witness the star during nighttime being occulted by Jupiter for over an hour. This would be a daytime occultation for Europe. Optical aid would be needed to witness this due to the brilliance of Jupiter overwhelming the star.

I calculate that the star will be occulted from 08:48 to 10:00 UT (03:48 to 05:00 CDT 04:48 to 06:00 EDT).

Photos and descriptions of the event would be welcome additions to this thread.

Jupiter-44-Cap.JPG