Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Strikethrough option missing?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    NEOTP Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,576

    Strikethrough option missing?

    At one time, not that long ago, the editing panel contained a strikethrough option; highlight a text string, select the icon, and voila, your text was shown as struck-through.

    But it's gone. Any chance that could come back?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    20,210
    Quote Originally Posted by schlaugh View Post
    At one time, not that long ago, the editing panel contained a strikethrough option; highlight a text string, select the icon, and voila, your text was shown as struck-through.

    But it's gone. Any chance that could come back?
    Even if it isnít, it is easy to do with bbcode.

    Hereís the same text with noparse:

    [s]Even if it isnít, it is easy to do with bbcode.[/s]

    "The problem with quotes on the Internet is that it is hard to verify their authenticity." ó Abraham Lincoln

    I say there is an invisible elf in my backyard. How do you prove that I am wrong?

    The Leif Ericson Cruiser

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    NEOTP Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,576
    Quote Originally Posted by Van Rijn View Post
    Even if it isnít, it is easy to do with bbcode.

    Hereís the same text with noparse:

    [s]Even if it isnít, it is easy to do with bbcode.[/s]
    Thanky...I figured the coding option was still available, I was just curious why the icon / function was removed from the Advanced editing panel.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    20,210
    Quote Originally Posted by schlaugh View Post
    Thanky...I figured the coding option was still available, I was just curious why the icon / function was removed from the Advanced editing panel.
    Ah. I looked at it more, and it is there, just not with bold, italics and underline. Look on the third line to the far right.

    "The problem with quotes on the Internet is that it is hard to verify their authenticity." ó Abraham Lincoln

    I say there is an invisible elf in my backyard. How do you prove that I am wrong?

    The Leif Ericson Cruiser

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    NEOTP Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,576
    Quote Originally Posted by Van Rijn View Post
    Ah. I looked at it more, and it is there, just not with bold, italics and underline. Look on the third line to the far right.
    Well that's just weird. I don't see any icons in that position; just a couple of blank spaces which (when clicked) offer to wrap tags around text. No sign of the strikethrough. Maybe it's a Chrome thing.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    20,210
    Yes, it looks like either a browser or OS thing. I get the same thing in Chrome, though I can see tooltips for the blank spots and the strikethrough works, it’s just that the icon is invisible, Firefox doesn’t show *anything* in the advanced editor for any icons, but I don’t feel like trying to troubleshoot that right now. [edit: Both of the above were on a laptop running Win 10]. However, on Safari on an iPad plus I see a large S with a line through it for strikethrough but next to it is a blank spot which when clicked generates “SUPER” codes. I’m guessing it’s written to some old standard that’s no longer supported or supported poorly.
    Last edited by Van Rijn; 2021-Apr-11 at 07:40 PM.

    "The problem with quotes on the Internet is that it is hard to verify their authenticity." ó Abraham Lincoln

    I say there is an invisible elf in my backyard. How do you prove that I am wrong?

    The Leif Ericson Cruiser

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    NEOTP Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,576
    Quote Originally Posted by Van Rijn View Post
    Yes, it looks like either a browser or OS thing. I get the same thing in Chrome, though I can see tooltips for the blank spots and the strikethrough works, it’s just that the icon is invisible, Firefox doesn’t show *anything* in the advanced editor for any icons, but I don’t feel like trying to troubleshoot that right now. However, on Safari on an iPad plus I see a large S with a line through it for strikethrough but next to it is a blank spot which when clicked generates “SUPER” codes. I’m guessing it’s written to some old standard that’s no longer supported or supported poorly.
    Ah ha...well, I just had a RTFM moment. One of the "hidden" icons I mentioned above is actually the [.s] function. It's just not visible.

    Live and learn.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Great NorthWet
    Posts
    17,098
    Quote Originally Posted by schlaugh View Post
    Ah ha...well, I just had a RTFM moment. One of the "hidden" icons I mentioned above is actually the [.s] function. It's just not visible.

    Live and learn.
    Interesting. I actually requested the button several years ago and a mod or admin added it for me. Odd that it's gone invisible. The other two invisible ones are both for superscript!

    Let me test that it works...
    Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    30,176
    We've got a custom definition for strikethrough, though the current version of vBulletin seems to have it built-in. I looked to see if I could tweak the editing buttons, but I couldn't find any settings for that.
    Everything I need to know I learned through Googling.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •