Thread: Unstable local stars?

Unstable local stars?

Greetings

<disclaimer> I'm a newbie amateur </disclaimer>

I was browsing through my stars & planets guide looking at the southern cross (crux) and the stars around it. My attention was particularly drawn to the two bright stars next to it in Centauris, alpha and beta that are particlularly visible here. The guide tells me that alpha centauri is a (trinary?) system containing the closest star to sol, alpha proxima, and that this is a flare star, changing in magnitude rapidly over a relatively short period of time.

My questions: although I know Sol is supposed to have plenty of life left in her yet, what about neighbouring stars? I think alpha centauri is ~4ly away. I don't know if being a 'flare' star means it is unstable or nearing the end of its lifecycle, but if it (or any other neighbouring star) was to explode/supernova/whatever, could our solar system be bombarded by dangerous levels of radiation? Are there many old/unstable stars within ~50ly radius of us?

I'm not trying to be alarmist, it is just a point of interest for me.

Red dwarf stars like Proxima Centauri have lifespans in the hundreds of billions of years. We'll be loooooooooooooooonnnnnnnggg gone before even the first of them enters middle age. Many red dwarfs are flare stars. I myself don't know the mechanism, but they commonly exhibit flare activity that puts our own sun to shame. There's nothing unstable about them.

Alpha and Beta Centauri are G-class stars very similar to our own Sun. I don't remember exactly, but I think they are a little older than Sol. G-class stars ending their lives swell up into red giants and expel large clouds of gas for a while, then gracefully die out and become white dwarfs. They do not go supernova. It takes a very massive star to do that.

There was a thread a while back about the possible threat of supernovae. It looks like it's not much of one at all. Read it here: