Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Using Light

Using Light

I don't know if this is the correct place to put this, but I have sort of a "theory".

Is there a possible way to use light to propel something at speeds of light. I use my 150mW 650nm laser and It'll push a balloon at decent speeds, and when it pops, you can keep the parts of the balloon in the air with the laser.

It goes slow because of the air and forces of gravity...but in space, none of that happens...right? If you could make a big enough laser with enough power, I think in space, you could generate a powerful enough laser and eventually the collimated light would push it along gradually increasing speed until it hit around or even the speed of light. Collimated light in space never diverges as there are no atmospheric elements to "interrupt" the collimation as on Earth.

Sorry, I'm a noob and can't really put things into scientific terms...but I've been thinking about this.

-Ingo

Quote Originally Posted by Ingo View Post
    Is there a possible way to use light to propel something at speeds of light. I use my 150mW 650nm laser and It'll push a balloon at decent speeds, and when it pops, you can keep the parts of the balloon in the air with the laser.
    Let me get the ball rolling for the experts here.
    I don't know if there is a way using light, but I suspect in your case, you are heating up the air on one side of the balloon, and using the effects on the atmosphere to move the baloon.

You can use it to send photons at the speed of light (that's a tautology, though), but nothing with rest mass. Things can recoil from photon absorption/emission, or reflection photons do possess momentum. That's the basis of laser cooling and a solar sail. But you will never be able to get the target moving at c.