Thread: Clarke says Mars has life??

Clarke says Mars has life??

Hi all,

Was reading on space.com where Arthur C. Clarke says that orbital photos show huge areas of vegitation on Mars. Since I always considered Clarke a scientist as well as a writer I found this a little startling.

http://www.space.com/astronotes/astronotes.html

Does anyone know what photos he's talking about?

Thanks

First off, Vernors, welcome to the board!

Secondly, I don't have a clue to what Arthur C. Clarke is talking about! There are NO Mars photo's showing what he claims. Startling is too mild a word. I'd call it scary. If this was April 1st, I'd say that it was some kind of joke. It's just real hard to believe that he would say something like that.
    The facts, gentlemen, and nothing but the facts, for careful eyes are narrowly watching. Isaac Asimov

Quote Originally Posted by R.A.F.
    First off, Vernors, welcome to the board!
    Thanks for the welcome. This board looks like a gem and I'm glad to have found it.

Secondly, I don't have a clue to what Arthur C. Clarke is talking about! There are NO Mars photo's showing what he claims. Startling is too mild a word. I'd call it scary. If this was April 1st, I'd say that it was some kind of joke. It's just real hard to believe that he would say something like that.
    I had to read it a couple of times myself. I found it hard to believe that something like that would have escaped the notice of even the general news services. The source of the quote seems reputable enough, though. Maybe Clarke's been reading too much Percival Lowell?

Let's not forget Clarke's age. While many people retain their mental faculties into their nineties, a significant number do not.

Yeah, he's lost it for sure.

Hey Vernors, are you named after the sublime ginger ale of the same name?