Thread: Space Project I give my students: Mission to Titan

Space Project I give my students: Mission to Titan

Hi. I am a Science Teacher in BC, Canada. I know I am part of the establishment that spreads bad astronomy so please don't kill me 8-[ .

In grade 9, we have an astronomy unit, mostly the solar system. At the end of the unit I give a project to the students. I give the the hypothetical scenario of establishing a mining/fuel producing station of Titan, in the orbit of Saturn. I chose Titan because it is interesting but not widely known to the students, and because it has volatiles. My parameters are as follows.

Round trip time: 20 years. Is this reasonable?
    Cargo: 10 miners and 4000 kg of equipment.
    Engines and fuel: I give some of the features of modern space engines, focusing of reaction and ion engines. I state that 4 engines 20 m x 5 m x 5 m and fuel is 2 spheres 40 m in diameter. These must be shown in your design.
    Crew: Choose a crew, or state why none would be necessary.
    Life Support: Again, students must design it based on current technology.
    Gravity: I make the students figure out how to simulate gravity in a spaceship and look at effect of acceleration.

Budget. The ship doesn't have to be paid for and is being built in high earth orbit. But food, crew, equipment have to be shipped to the ship at current rates, which I call $40,000 USD / kg. They also have to purchase equipment with this budget. The budget is $2.0 x 10^9 USD.

Generally, I try to get the students to think about some of the problems and costs associated with manned missions.

Usually, in result, I get 14 outlines of the starship Enterprise divided into rooms like kitchen, make-up room, etc and crews consisting of popular celebrities. But I get one or two well though out projects with ring shaped ships with sophisticated and well though out life support systems.